Snowdance 2014 Winners PDF Print E-mail
Written by Diane Carlson   
Monday, 03 March 2014 00:00


RACINE, WISCONSIN, MARCH 2, 2014: Over Our Head Players concluded the 2014 Snowdance® 10 Minute Comedy Festival on Sunday by presenting the audience favorite Best in Snow prizes. A record-setting number of people attended the sold-out Snowdance run this year, each of them playing judge via their votes. The Best in Snow winning entry was Cabin Pressure written by William Sikorski from Birchwood Village, Minnesota. Second place went to The Penis Play by Toby Scales of New York, New York. Third place went to Don’s School of Dance by former Racinian and past Snowdance winner Joe Thompson of Madison, Wisconsin.

After the final Snowdance performance Sunday, the audience voted for their favorites, just as audiences at each of the previous 28 performances had done. The final show’s tally was added to the votes from throughout the run. Then, the Snowdance ensemble came together for the Closing Ceremonies. In a special tribute to mark the tenth anniversary Snowdance production, the previous nine winners were recreated in 37 seconds. As is tradition, the ceremonial Dance of the Salmon highlighted the event, joined this year by an Angry Mackerel waltz and some raining mackerel. Then, the ceremonial Snowdance snow cone was sealed away for next year’s competition, and the company gathered around balloting supervisor Anna Clementi, who had the winning results sealed in a mayonnaise jar. As the excitement built, Anna declared the winners, with Snowdance ensemble members accepting the awards on behalf of the playwrights. Brandy Harrell, who directed Don’s School of Dance, accepted third place. John Adams and Brianna Hubbard, cast members of The Penis Play, took second place on the podium. Finally, director Rich Smith accepted first place for Cabin Pressure, immediately joined by playwright William Sikorski, who was in the audience.

The $300 first place Best in Snow award went to William Sikorski from Minnesota for Cabin Pressure, which featured two women loudly conversing on cell phones and a hapless man between them. Second place went to Toby Scales of New York for The Penis Play – a look inside the psyche of a man on a first date. Third place was awarded to Joe Thompson of Madison for Don’s School of Dance about two men who should not be teaching moves to three women. Second and third place awards were each $100.

Winning playwright William Sikorski shared that this was the first comedy he had written. A part-time writer, he has had some dramas produced previously. Mr. Sikorski made the trip to Racine to attend the final two performances and was honored to have won. He enjoyed all of the performances and claimed he didn’t even vote for himself and was quite surprised to win. A laboratory manager at 3M in Minnesota, he shared that his inspiration to become involved in theatre came from his daughter, and he has since had the opportunity to share the stage with his son when they appeared in a production of The Gift of Rift which, coincidentally, was also a previous Snowdance winner which has gone on to other productions. Cabin Pressure is a commentary on the fact that people no longer communicate in person, but by cell phones and technology. Former Racinian Joe Thompson has previously been represented on the podium. Mr. Thompson’s The Optometrist won the second Snowdance in 2006.

Managing Artistic Director Rich Smith reflects on this year’s Snowdance, “We are so proud to make Racine the home of the 10 minute comedy competition. It has been our intention to produce new material and have our audience share the excitement of plays’ debut productions. This year, in honor of our tenth anniversary, we set a record for attendance – and votes – that will stand for a long time. We are so appreciative of the Snowdance ensemble and their commitment to this project. Our audiences have embraced us and served admirable as judges at the only competition of its kind.” He continues, “Many of our out-of-town playwrights have joined us over the years, and it was very enjoyable to have Bill Sikorski in with us this weekend. We are honored to have had the opportunity to bring Bill’s vision and all of our playwrights’ ideas to life.”

Snowdance was produced by an ensemble. The acting and directing ensemble featured John Adams, Kristin Althoff, Diane Carlson, Michelle DeRose, Cody A. Ernest, Brandy Harrell, Kevin Hlavka, Nicholas Hoyt, Brianna Hubbard, Mary Kveton, Ron Schulz, Robbie Shaw, and Rich Smith. The additional production staff also included Joseph Piirto, Emily Sweetman, Christopher Larson, Wendy Schulz, Skip Carlson, Claudia Bruce, Paula Ann Czechowicz, Sea Daniel, Mona Lewis, Anna Clementi, Preston Hill, Jerry Horton, Ryan Loberger, Joan Roehre, Janine Anderson, Jim Smith, and Leslie Utech.

The Snowdance Comedy Festival was sponsored by Minuteman Press. Over Our Head Players is a non-profit organization of volunteer talent from throughout Southeastern Wisconsin; they operate the Sixth Street Theatre in Downtown Racine. Their 22ns season closes with Becky’s New Car, a romantic comedy running April 11 - 27. For information, please call the box office at (262) 632-6802.

Cabin Pressure
The 2014 1st Place award: “Cabin Pressure.” Photo features Mary Kveton, Robbie Shaw, and Brianna Hubbard, engaged in overlapping cell phone conversations just before a plane takes off.
Date Nav™
2nd Place: “The Penis Play.” Photo features Rich Smith, John Adams, Mary Kveton, and Brianna Hubbard on a first date.
And What a Damn Fine Morning It Is
3rd Place: “Don’s School of Dance.” Photo features Cody Ernest and Ron Schulz demonstrating dance moves to Brianna Hubbard, Mary Kveton, and Michelle DeRose.
Last Updated ( Monday, 03 March 2014 09:31 )